. New Courses and One-off Events in Term 2, 2020

U3APP has been very active in continuing to add to the course program.  The following new courses, repeat courses and one-off events have been included so far:  (the newest courses since the last e-bulletin are highlighted in bold text)

COURSES

Monday Courses

Tuesday Courses

Wednesday Courses

Thursday Courses

Friday Courses

ONE-OFF EVENTS

Out and About

Saturday Seminars

Talks

For further details about the above courses and one-off events and to book, or if the event is full, to put yourself on the waitlist, click on the course or event name.

You can check back here whenever you want to know about new Courses and One-Off Events.

. e-Bulletin Dates for 2020

Distribution date for regularly scheduled e-bulletins Date by which content to be sent to [email protected]
Sunday, 19 January 2020 Thursday, 16 January 2020
Sunday, 26 January 2020 Thursday, 23 January 2020
Sunday, 9 February 2020 Thursday, 6 February 2020
Sunday, 23 February 2020 Thursday, 20 February 2020
Sunday, 8 March 2020 Thursday, 5 March 2020
Sunday, 22 March 2020 Thursday, 19 March 2020
Sunday, 5 April 2020 Thursday, 2 April 2020
Sunday, 19 April 2020 Thursday, 16 April 2020
Sunday, 3 May 2020 Thursday, 30 April 2020
Sunday, 17 May 2020 Thursday, 14 May 2020
Sunday, 31 May 2020 Thursday, 28 May 2020
Sunday, 14 June 2020 Thursday, 11 June 2020
Sunday, 28 June 2020 Thursday, 25 June 2020
Sunday, 12 July 2020 Thursday, 9 July 2020
Sunday, 26 July 2020 Thursday, 23 July 2020
Sunday, 9 August 2020 Thursday, 6 August 2020
Sunday, 23 August 2020 Thursday, 20 August 2020
Sunday, 6 September 2020 Thursday, 3 September 2020
Sunday, 20 September 2020 Thursday, 17 September 2020
Sunday, 4 October 2020 Thursday, 1 October 2020
Sunday, 18 October 2020 Thursday, 15 October 2020
Sunday, 1 November 2020 Thursday, 29 October 2020
Sunday, 15 November 2020 Thursday, 12 November 2020
Sunday, 29 November 2020 Thursday, 26 November 2020
Sunday, 13 December 2020 Thursday, 10 December 2020

. Monash Research – 50+ Study

My name is Dr Nikos Thomacos. I am a Senior Lecturer at Monash University in Melbourne. I am working on a study with my colleague Jason Yeung about the about the lives, relationships, and well-being of people aged 50 and over. We hope you will consider participating in the study.

If you agree to participate you will complete a number of online surveys about your sources and use of support; your relationships with others; your life; and, some questions about you; for example, your age, sex, etc. The surveys should take approximately 20 - 25 minutes to complete.

To participate in this study, you need to be 50 years of older, can complete the surveys in English, and live in Australia.

You will not be required to provide any information that would allow you to be identified. All responses will remain anonymous.

The Monash University Human Research Ethics Committee has reviewed and approved this research study.

This link will take you to the study: 50+ Study

Finally, if you know of any other people like yourself who you think might be interested in supporting or potentially participating in the study, please feel free to forward details to them.

If you have any questions or I can clarify anything about the study, please contact me on 9904-4873 or [email protected].

Yours faithfully,

Dr Nikos Thomacos

. St Kilda Historical Society Short Story Competition

To celebrate its 50th anniversary, the St Kilda Historical Society is holding a short story competition.  You may write on any theme, in any genre and in any time period, providing that the story is inspired by or set in St Kilda.

The competition is open to anybody except for the committee members of the St Kilda Historical Society and their families.

Entries must be submitted by 7 August 2020.

For further details, go to their website.

. U3APP Policies & Procedures updated

As part of the U3APP Strategic Plan, the U3APP Policies & Procedures manual has been updated to include 4.8 Environmental Policy.

To view the updated manual, click here.

. Checklist for Office Volunteers’ IT Skills

We have created a Checklist for the IT skills which Office Volunteers need to know how to do.  The Checklist enables OVs to see which items they feel confident with and can handle on their own.  And, for those IT items they feel unsure of, we will arrange help.

The Checklist is available here.

. Protecting yourself from financial elder abuse

Dear Members

This is about protecting yourself from financial elder abuse.

On Saturday the 13th October your U3APP hosted a most informative speaker – the Hon Dr Kay Patterson AO. Her speech outlined the role of the Age Discrimination Commissioner in the Human Rights Commission.

In her speech she made many valuable points and informed us that the CBA has in June this year launched a guide on how seniors can protect themselves from financial abuse. The guide is called “CBA Safe and Savvy”. To get the guide you do not have to be a Commonwealth Bank customer, it is apparently available at CBA branches. I have just discovered that the guide is also on line at “cba safe and savvy” or here.

We strongly recommend you avail yourself of this information.

With best wishes your Committee of Management,

 

Renate Mattiske

President