. Upgrading to latest version of Zoom

Zoom is constantly being enhanced to include new features and additional security.  To take advantage of these enhancements, your copy of Zoom, which is the Zoom app on your device, needs to be upgraded.  Except for the compulsory  upgrades, for example Zoom will automatically upgrade your Zoom app if it is not the latest version at the time you first use it after 30 May 2020, you must initiate the upgrade yourself.

How to upgrade your copy of Zoom varies from device to device.   If you are using Zoom on multiple devices, you will need to do the upgrade on each device.  Click on the arrow beside your type of device below for the instructions.

PC or Mac desktop or laptop

If you have created a Zoom account (i.e. you have a Zoom sign on userid and password):

  • Click on Zoom
  • Sign in
  • Click your profile picture in the top right (the little coloured square at the top right)
  • Click Check for Updates.
  • If there is a newer version available:
    • the message "update available" is displayed
    • click on Update
  • If you already have the latest version:
    • the message "you are up to date" is displayed

If you do not have a Zoom account:

  • Click on Zoom
  • Click on the cogwheel in the top left (looks a bit like )
  • Click on Version
  • If there is a newer version available:
    • the message "update available" is displayed
    • click on Update
  • If you already have the latest version:
    • the message "Zoom is up to date" is displayed
iPad or iPhone
  • click on App Store
  • click on your profile picture in the top right
  • all the available updates are displayed
  • scroll down and if you see Zoom:
    • click on Update
Android Tablet or Phone
  • click on Play Store
  • click on the menu in the top left (it's 3 small horizontal lines)
  • click on My apps & games
  • all the available updates are displayed
  • scroll down and if you see Zoom:
    • click on Update

 

. New Courses and One-off Events in Term 2, 2020

U3APP has been very active in continuing to add to the course program.  The following new courses, repeat courses and one-off events have been included so far:  (the newest courses since the last e-bulletin are highlighted in bold text)

COURSES

Monday Courses

Tuesday Courses

Wednesday Courses

Thursday Courses

Friday Courses

ONE-OFF EVENTS

Out and About

Saturday Seminars

Talks

 

For further details about the above courses and one-off events and to book, or if the event is full, to put yourself on the waitlist, click on the course or event name.

You can check back here whenever you want to know about new Courses and One-Off Events.

. Message from U3APP President, Graham Gosling, 17 May 2020

Dear U3APP Members 

I hope this message finds you all well and engaged with all of our online Courses and activities.  Our Tutors and Coordinators continue to do a remarkable job.  Participation rates are well into the 70% range, and the feedback is that everyone has adapted extremely well to this new environment.

Port Phillip Council has advised us that all of its community facilities will remain closed for the foreseeable future, and a reopening will not be considered before the end of June.  I believe that this date is very optimistic, and Members should expect that there is a real possibility that face-to-face classes will nt recommence before August, or later.  Even then there will be significant restrictions in place and other hurdles to be overcome.  Social distancing requirements alone makes it very difficult to accommodate students in any of the class rooms used by U3APP.

In the meantime, please continue to log in through our website to Zoom your respective activities and enjoy the camaraderie of your fellow Members and Tutors.

Stay safe, well and happy.  

Graham Gosling - President U3APP

 

. Covid-19 Working Group Report 9 May 2020

U3A Port Phillip take a bow! The smooth transition to a new teaching and learning environment has been accomplished by volunteers who have worked tirelessly to get new systems in place so that classes could continue.

The hard work and skills of our IT team has been critical in this achievement. This team has not only developed and maintained systems but provided materials and support for tutors and participants including sitting in on classes to ensure all is working well.

It is not surprising that Victorian and interstate U3As are contacting the Working Group asking for guidance on Zoom.

The Working Group continues to monitor Government regulations. At this stage,  while there may be some lessening of restrictions coming in, our current online arrangements will remain at least until the end of term 2.

However, we do not rest on our laurels, we are trying new things to augment our offerings. Our U3A monthly Saturday seminars are back, commencing on 16 May. They will come to you  as  Zoom webinars. Just log in for the Saturday seminar on the U3APP website.

Pam Caven - U3APP CoM & Member of Covid-19 Working Group

. Covid-19 Working Group Report 2 May 2020

As many of us have experienced, most of our wonderful tutors have now embraced Zoom and are providing their courses online.  These courses are encouraging all of us to continue our learning, our communication with each other and our membership of U3APP. So many of us are Zoomers now!

Behind the scenes the Working Group has been meeting twice a week to enable the transition to new ways of operating for members (tutors and participants) as smooth as possible. We have been in regular contact with tutors, the IT team, the President and members of the committee of management, staff from the Port Phillip Council and the U3A Network.

We are monitoring Government requirements and planning ahead for changed circumstances.

Even though the Victorian Government’s state of emergency is in place until May 11 and members of U3A are in physical isolation, the Working group is determined that this should not mean social isolation.

Pam Caven - CoM & Working Group

 

. Update from Covid-19 Working Group 18 April 2020

Term 2 started this week with 70% of our courses being offered, either online or via email correspondence.

We started Phase 1 only 4 weeks ago when we made the decision to stop face-to-face classes and we put in place engagement mechanisms which will continue for the duration.

Engagement between us all is critical as we go through these days of isolation.   We will continue to keep in touch, with the office still responding to phone calls and emails and member liaison still staying in touch with any members who are not well.  The e-bulletin is being sent out weekly instead of fortnightly, Spotlight On! has new wings and the COVID-19 page presents continually updated information.  Our Facebook page has ramped up allowing engagement between members and the new Tutors Forum facilitates engagement between tutors.

Phase 2 has now completed, in which a large number of U3APP volunteers worked with our tutors to determine how they could run their Term 2 courses and then communicated to every course member what was happening with their course.  We started this phase with a long schedule of tasks that had to be completed before Term 2 started and we did them all.  Thank you to everyone for your focus on getting the job done and for your encouragement to each other.

Phase 3 has now started with the ongoing day to day enjoyment of Term 2 courses.  There will undoubtedly be some teething problems as we adapt to the totally new way of delivering and attending our courses, but these are being addressed promptly.  And if you have some new ideas to investigate, we'd be delighted to hear from you - just email us at [email protected].

With best regards from the Working Group, Pam and Jim and Diane

. Message from the U3APP President

Welcome back to Term 2 at U3A Port Phillip.

As I reported in my previous message a Working Group of the COM has been established and continues to meet at least twice a week to shape and monitor our response to the ‘new normal’.

I am delighted to report that as a consequence of their incredible efforts, 70% of our Courses will continue either as Online events (50%) or by email. A sincere thanks to each of them:- Pam Caven, Diane Boyle and Jim Pribble.

Our thanks also goes to the Tutors for embracing new and innovative ways of offering their Courses. Additionally we must also acknowledge the IT and Enrolment Teams who have enabled this by setting up new systems and providing guidance and training. They have been outstanding.

Members are encouraged to get ready for their online Courses by accessing How to get Started on Zoom on the U3A website.

Our weekly E-Bulletin is both entertaining and, significantly, keeps Members up to date.

On behalf of the Committee of Management, I wish you a Happy Easter/Passover.

Stay safe, well and happy

Graham Gosling - President

 

. Dates for your Diary

2020

SEMESTER 1

Monday 8 June - Queen's Birthday holiday - no classes this day

Friday 26 June - end Term 2

SEMESTER 2

Monday 11 July - Term 3 begins - Classes resume

Friday 18 September - end Term 3

Monday 5 October - Term 4 begins - Classes resume

Tuesday 3 November - Melbourne Cup day - no classes this day

Friday 4 December - end Term 4

 

. e-Bulletin Dates for 2020

Distribution date for regularly scheduled e-bulletins Date by which content to be sent to [email protected]
Sunday, 19 January 2020 Thursday, 16 January 2020
Sunday, 26 January 2020 Thursday, 23 January 2020
Sunday, 9 February 2020 Thursday, 6 February 2020
Sunday, 23 February 2020 Thursday, 20 February 2020
Sunday, 8 March 2020 Thursday, 5 March 2020
Sunday, 22 March 2020 Thursday, 19 March 2020
Sunday, 5 April 2020 Thursday, 2 April 2020
Sunday, 19 April 2020 Thursday, 16 April 2020
Sunday, 3 May 2020 Thursday, 30 April 2020
Sunday, 17 May 2020 Thursday, 14 May 2020
Sunday, 31 May 2020 Thursday, 28 May 2020
Sunday, 14 June 2020 Thursday, 11 June 2020
Sunday, 28 June 2020 Thursday, 25 June 2020
Sunday, 12 July 2020 Thursday, 9 July 2020
Sunday, 26 July 2020 Thursday, 23 July 2020
Sunday, 9 August 2020 Thursday, 6 August 2020
Sunday, 23 August 2020 Thursday, 20 August 2020
Sunday, 6 September 2020 Thursday, 3 September 2020
Sunday, 20 September 2020 Thursday, 17 September 2020
Sunday, 4 October 2020 Thursday, 1 October 2020
Sunday, 18 October 2020 Thursday, 15 October 2020
Sunday, 1 November 2020 Thursday, 29 October 2020
Sunday, 15 November 2020 Thursday, 12 November 2020
Sunday, 29 November 2020 Thursday, 26 November 2020
Sunday, 13 December 2020 Thursday, 10 December 2020