. New Events in 2018, Semester 2

U3APP has been very active in continuing to add to the course program.  For Semester 2: Terms 3 and 4, the following new courses and one-off events have been  included:  (the newest courses since the last e-bulletin are highlighted in bold text)

COURSES

Monday Courses

  • Drawing Fundamentals, starting Monday July 16
  • Beginners' Bridge, starting Monday October 8
  • Drawing Fundamentals (repeat), starting Monday October 8
  • Photography using your iPhone and iPad Camera, starting Monday October 29

Tuesday Courses

  • The Adventure of English – A History of the English Language, starting Tuesday July 17
  • The Australian Constitution: Discussion on the 1967 Referendum and Aboriginal Recognition, starting Tuesday July 17
  • Cryptic Crosswords for Beginners (Tuesday), starting Tuesday July 17
  • Origin of the Bible and Koran from an Agnostic Non-religious Point of View, starting Tuesday August 28
  • Egypt: 500,000BC to 30BC, starting Tuesday October 9
  • Philosophy of the Human and the Posthuman, starting Tuesday October 9

Wednesday Courses

  • Cryptic Crosswords for Beginners (Wednesday), starting Wednesday July 18
  • Using Your iPhone and iPad More Efficiently,  starting Wednesday July 18
  • Introduction to Philosophy, starting Wednesday July 25
  • Computer Basics for Everyone (repeat series), starting Wednesday July 25
  • The Good Life: Seven Perspectives, starting Wednesday October 17
  • General Computer Use and Problem Solving, starting Wednesday October 24
  • Apple Tips & Tricks - get more out of your Apple devices!, one session only on Wednesday October 31

Thursday Courses

Friday Courses

  • Bridge Playing Sessions, starting Friday October 12
  • Beginners' Hatha Yoga, starting Friday October 12

For further details about the courses and to book, or if the course is full, to put yourself on the waitlist, go here.

 

ONE-OFF EVENTS

Talks

  • Wednesday September 19: The Victorian Law Reform Commission: Development, Review and Reform of Victoria's State Laws

Out and About

  • Wednesday July 18:  Guided Tour – The Jewish Museum of Australia
  • Wednesday July 25:  Walk in Melbourne CBD
  • Thursday Aug 9:  Exhibition – Mao’s Last Dancer
  • Wednesday Nov 14:  Guided Tour – Dome to Catacomb Tour of The State Library of Victoria
  • Thursday Dec 6:  Punting on the Lake – Royal Botanic Gardens

Saturday Seminars

  • Saturday July 21: Vikki Petraitis: Murder on Her Mind
  • Saturday Aug 18:  Dr Michael Adcock: The Republic of Pleasure – La Vie Parisienne
  • Saturday Oct 13: Seniors Festival Marquee Speaker - Hon Dr Kay Patterson

Special Events

  • Tuesday 16 and Wednesday 17 October: U3APP Art Exhibition
  • Thursday 18 October: U3APP Concert

For further details about the one-off events and to book, or if the event is full, to put yourself on the waitlist, go here.

 

COURSES TAKING A SHORT BREAK – BUT RETURNING IN OCTOBER:

  • Mindfulness Meditation, returning Tuesday October 9

 

You can check back here whenever you want to know about new Courses and One-Off Events.