How to enable automatic Zoom update
Zoom regularly provides new versions of the Zoom desktop client and mobile app to release new features and fix bugs. They recommend updating to the latest version when it is available to receive the best video and audio experience. Occasionally, a version becomes mandatory and you must update to it before you can continue using Zoom.
You can set up your Zoom app to automatically update to the latest version, so you do not have to do it yourself. To do so, follow these steps for each device on which you use Zoom:
On a Windows or MacOS device:
- Sign in to the Zoom app on your device.
- Click your profile picture, then click Settings.
- Under the Zoom Updates section, click Automatically keep Zoom desktop client up to date.
On an Android mobile phone:
- Launch the Google Play Store app, and then tap the Profile icon at the top right.
- Select Settings.
- Select Network preferences, and then tap Auto-update apps.
- Select your desired setting, and then tap DONE
On an iPad or iPhone:
- Tap Settings.
- Tap App Store.
- Tap the indicator next to "App Updates" to turn the function on or off.
- Tap the indicator next to "Automatic Downloads" to turn the function on or off.
How to see everyone else on an iPad
Zoom on an iPad has a slightly different display. One of the main differences is that, by default, you can only see one other person on your screen, the person who is speaking. You can change it by touching your screen and clicking on "Switch to Gallery View" at the top left of the screen.
How to not see everyone else when watching Screen Share
When watching the shared screen, you may see thumbnails of some of the class members.
Above the thumbnails is a set of icons. Click on the smallest bar and the thumbnails are minimised. You can drag the remaining bit anywhere on your screen so it is not in the way of the shared screen.
How to hide course members who are not sharing video
If a course member does not share their video (i.e. they have clicked on Stop Video), by default everyone else will see a black box with that person’s name at the bottom. To remove the black box from your screen:
• Click the upward arrow, ^, next to Stop Video
• Click Video Settings
• Under My Video, tick Hide non-video Participants
How to see closed captions
Closed captions are automatically produced in our Zoom sessions. To view the closed captions on your screen:
• On Windows, click on More > Captions > Show Captions.
• On iPad, click on More > Show Captions